Critical Hit! … New Dice

29 Mar

Chessex "Air" d20

I scored some new sets of dice from my FLGS  🙂
Above is a pic of a d20 from one called “Air” that caught my eye.

I really don’t “need” more dice, but I am a sucker especially for speckled dice sets. My dice pouch is one I have had since I was 16.  It is a handmade one, lined inside, with an exterior of old-style military camouflage fabric. I still have it and some older sets of dice from back then.

Sometimes it is fun to have colors that fit the mood & class of the character or campaign you are playing at the time. Over the years,  I have given away uncountable number of polyhedral dice sets to new and returning players. It gives me an excuse to get more 😉  In all reality, any reason to get cool new dice is too tempting for me. Thankfully, I limit my dice purchases to sprees of getting new ones every few years.

Here are a couple of other sets that scored a Critical Hit with me:

Chessex "Fire"

Chessex "Lotus"

Now I just need to get back to my campaign planning, so I will have a reason to use these beauties this Summer!!!

-Jeff
“Retro”

6 Responses to “Critical Hit! … New Dice”

  1. Bard March 29, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    We gamers do seem to have an addiction when it comes to buying dice. I probably buy a new set maybe once every six months or so. Each time I do, my wife lets out an exasperated groan with the exclamation: “More dice?!” And I honestly can’t explain to her why I buy them. I don’t *need* them. I just can’t help but *want* them.

    • Retro RPG March 29, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

      I can see that scenario as I have been there myself: “More dice? Why do you need those? You have a million already…”

  2. Steve Robertson March 29, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Ah, so you’re the guy who likes those ugly speckled dice!

    Since there are a bunch of speckled dice for sale, I suspected somebody must’ve been buying them, but I kept thinking who would ever buy something so ugly?! ;^)

    I prefer the “gem” dice, cuz I like the shinies!

    Count me among those who believe you need different color dice for different characters/moods (really just an excuse to buy more dice).

    • Retro RPG March 29, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      hehe
      I used to get the gem dice when they were just solid colors… I noted there are some opaques that are pretty nice… just haven’t gotten any of those for awhile 😉

  3. boccobsblog March 30, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    No one needs more dice, but that is the fun of the game. I buy a new set each year at Gen Con. There are a lot of new dice companies out there and they all make great looking products. Congrats on your new dice!

    • Retro RPG March 31, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      Con dice are unique… I need to get some! uhh, wait, I have enough already 😉

Leave a Reply

